Watch this Space for New Posts Coming Soon

Simple Hair Care

Simple Hair Care

I have had my fair share of bad hair experiences. Highlights, straightening treatments and bad haircuts that went horribly wrong. I learned by trial and error that simplicity is best and the most expensive products are not necessarily the best. These are products I use which always prove to be effective.

Hair Treatments:
The simplest treatment for your hair is using Olive Oil (not cooking olive oil, the medicinal one) and Coconut Oil (not cooking coconut oil, the medicinal one) and mixing the two oils. I boil some water and then pour the hot water in a mug. I drop the bottles in the hot water for the oils to get a bit warm. I then use equal amounts of coconut oil and olive oil and massage it into my scalp. This is an age old Indian tradition and it works. Olive Oil is nourishing and helps to control frizz. Coconut oil is great for thinning hair, helps to reduce dandruff and restores dry and damaged hair. It is important to not use too much oil. Once the oil is massaged into your scalp you can put a shower cap over it and leave the oils on for about two hours, you can also sleep with it overnight. If you using the oils and sleeping with the oils on your head without a shower cap/ cap be sure to use an old pillowcase as the oil will stain your pillowcase. When washing your hair, shampoo twice to make sure any excess oil is removed.

Masks which I have been using for a while and that are really great are the Davines Nou Nou Hair Mask and the Nourishing Hair Building Pak. The Nou Nou Hair Mask is ideal for colour treated hair and nourishes without weighing your hair down. I love the smell, it has a citrusy, slightly spicy fragrance. I use this mask once a week. After shampooing I towel dry my hair, apply the mask, leave on for 3 minutes and then rinse. The Nourishing Hair Building Pak also by Davines restructures the hair and is a slightly more intense treatment.

Shampoos & Conditioners:
As I have long hair and wash my everyday I do not use the Davines range of shampoos and conditioners as it is too costly. I prefer to use a cheaper shampoo and conditioner and invest in a mask/ treatment which I can use once or twice a week.
The brand I am using at the moment is the Aussie range. Their shampoos and conditioners work really well. It is also a good idea generally to change your brand or type of shampoo and conditioners every two months. The best Shampoo and Conditioner I have used which I bought at a Sephora while abroad is the Percy and Reed range. This is by far hands down The Best Shampoo and Conditioner I have used. Percy and Reed is a British brand and they do not stock this brand in South Africa.
I do not really like hair sprays and used the Batiste Dry Shampoo one day out of necessity. I was getting ready for an event and hopped into the shower but we had water restrictions that day and there was no water. I used the Batiste XXL Volume Dry Shampoo. I sprayed it on and combed it through my hair. At first I felt as if my hair was a bit stiff but this feeling soon went away. My hair had movement and there was no frizz. It was a hot day and I was worried my hair may get greasy or start getting flat but as the day progressed my hair looked soft and natural and the Dry Shampoo did the trick.

Serums/Oils:
A product I love and highly recommend is the Davines Absolute Beautifying Potion. I love the smell and texture. I use this everyday on the ends of my hair. Perfect to use for a smooth finish after blow drying and flat ironing. I used to use Moroccan Oil before this but found that the Light Moroccan Oil was still a bit heavy for my hair and made my hair oily. When I am in a hurry, which is almost everyday, I finger dry my hair and apply this potion. It keeps the frizz away, detangles and conditions the hair making it soft and manageable. This is great to use when going to the beach or before swimming as it has a protective film. This is the one product I always use and take with me when travelling. I usually buy my Davines products from Carlton Hair.

Hair Vitamins:
For strong healthy hair I take the vitamin Silica. Silica is a mineral responsible for collagen synthesis. Collagen encompasses the skin, connective tissue and hair follicles. I have used Silica for a while and it definitely does help with hair growth. It also helps to maintain healthy nails and skin.

Hair Tip:
For shiny, healthy looking hair rinse your hair with cool or tepid water. This is something I have done for years and will admit is harder to do during the winter months. An old Aunt who had the thickest fullest, shiniest head of hair told me to do this years ago and I try to do it as often as possible. It is also great for keeping your skin taut. When you are done conditioning your hair you should rinse your hair with cold water. Before I get out of the shower for my final rinse I turn the water from hot to slightly less hotter, then slightly cooler, until it is cold. There has been much debate whether rinsing with cold/cool water does in fact make your hair shiny. My findings is that is makes my hair smoother and definitely shinier.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

